JAKARTA (Yosefardi) – The Ministry of State-owned Enterprises (SoE) plans to set PT Danareksa or PT Bahana Pembinaan Usaha Indonesia (BPUI) as holding company for 4 state banks; Bank Mandiri, Bank Rakyat Indonesia (BRI), Bank Negara Indonesia (BNI), and Bank Tabungan Negara (BTN).

This aims as investment holding or strategic consolidation, instead of merger, to boost capacity in fund raising, profitability, efficiency, and market share (to 45% from current 37%).

As at third quarter of 2015, total assets of 4 state banks reached Rp2,330 trillion. While total assets of banking industry was Rp6,041 trillion.